New Spot…

 

Yep, done with the Detroit experiment. Not that the free contact buzz was necessarily an issue at times, but non stop is/was a bit much. I loved MY space but the building itself, along with the management’s inability to follow through with any sort of enforcement with regard to people smoking weed in the hallways in the middle of the afternoon on a Tuesday, as well as the lack of any sort of cleaning in the rest rooms to make them smell even a little less like 20 people just pissed on the floor, made it an easy choice. Not to say that another location within the city wouldn’t have worked, but not here. I’m ready to come home to Ferndale – where I grew up and where I still live. Also where my private space was located for 5 years before the sale of my building forced me to leave. The new spot is actually the spot I was interested in moving to back in January before I took the Russell location. The Ferndale spot was still several months away from being completed and I didn’t have the time to wait. I’m still about 30 days out from the new spot being ready but, as I did for 10 years, I’ll be working with you guys outside until then at various parks and tracks in the area. This wasn’t an option when I needed to move back in January as it is now. That being said, my new spot will be a 10,000 square foot industrial building that’s currently being built out for many small businesses. One of which, that will be ready about the same time as mine as is on the other side of the wall, is a small batch micro brewery. I think this may work out just fine for some of you. The location is fantastic, address is 2615 E. Oakridge. Though it’s an Oakridge address, it’s essentially on Woodward Heights about 1/2 mile from my old Ferndale location. Great parking and great area to run around in as well as a huge park two blocks away. Hopefully this will be the last move, I’m planning on staying here for quite some time. I never thought I’d be so happy to hear about a brand new bathroom being built, funny what we get used to. Quick directions for those of you directionally challenged – if you’re going north on Woodward from the old studio, you’ll go right on Woodward Heights – it’s about 4 blocks up from the old spot – and take it down about 1/2 mile, just past the railroad tracks another hundred yards or so, you’ll see it on your right. You’ll see exactly what you see in the photo, that’s where I took it.

 

new spot

 

Leave a Reply

