My Voice, NOT Theirs

In the follow up to my late night rant early this morning, here’s the updated (or revisited from 2006) gameplan…

 

Motor City Bootcamp

Strength and conditioning program to mimic the 7 week training camp format that I’d use with one of my professional athletes. Sessions will cover every aspect of strength and conditioning work and will include boxing and stair work as well. Sessions will meet at the Russell Industrial Center at Watters Performance, a private studio. Plan on both indoor and outdoor work. You’ll be tested on day 1 and again on the final day with a fitness test that I’ve designed. Programming will be ramped up weekly so that each week is progressively more difficult. It’s important that you commit the necessary time or you’ll fall behind. There will be morning, evening and weekend classes made available to you. You may come as often as you like but are STRONGLY encouraged to attend at least 3 x weekly. You are responsible for confirming your spot for each session or risk me not letting you train. The 8th week will be an “off week” where I’ll have found some type of local event that you’ll be encouraged to do. Event meaning some sort of race. If nothings available, I may set something up myself. Either way, the point is that you’re working towards an end result goal that has nothing to do with numbers on a scale. If shedding lbs is what you need, it’ll happen by training the way you’ll need to in order to complete your training. March 21st will start the new 7 week camp

 

Muddy Watters Trail Series

The races this season will be, as they were in year one before things became “tainted”, HARD and designed to challenge you to the point that you’ll want to quit. But that’s what’s great about the mind. You almost have to get to that point and push through it to feel as though you actually accomplished a damn thing. Otherwise, everyone would be doing it. I’m planning to have between 3 – 5 events this season. The first one will take place sometime in March. This event will be FREE. You’ll be asked to make a donation that’ll go towards getting things together for the rest of the upcoming season like permits, prizes and other race related expenses. These events will go back to being low cost, high adventure events in which only local sponsors or sponsors whose products I actually use will be linked to the event. I don’t want to mix and match different distances for different levels. All events won’t be the same distance or even format but, on race day, everyone will do the exact same course. Men, Women, Kids, Dogs, Seniors… whoever the hell else. Plan to knock out between 5 – 9 miles, depending on the event. They will be on TRAILS, RIVERS, STAIRS, HILLS, DRAIN TUNNELS and other weird stuff that you’ll think was a joke until you show up and run into it on race day. I’ll continue to have great swag, great shirts, great prizes and great food. Best of all? I’ll have great course design. I prided myself on putting together unique and challenging courses. I’d go as far as to say some of the best in the entire midwest. Each race will be different and have it’s own unique features and distance. They’ll all suck, in a good way. One thing I try to emphasize is not only getting you WAY out of your comfort zone but to have you do some things that you’d not do or come up with on your own. Things you may even surprise yourself you did at all. Peer pressure can be a bitch… All races, regardless of length, will be charged at $35 per person. Obviously doesn’t apply to Frozen Watters next month. Please have the ability to swim and not be a bitch. If you’ve not done my events before, you’ll see very few (if any) volunteers on the course. No water stations – you’re encouraged to bring a filter and drink from the river if you’re that thirsts. No blow up walls or other gimmicky obstacles. You’ll be traversing plenty of things that are already there. I handle all aspects of the event myself. I don’t use a marketing group or anyone else for course design. The same goes for the shirts and prizes… all me and my choosing. If you’ve got a bitch, bring it me. 015Totally organic event that’s totally supported AND supports local small biz. Group discounts, early registration discount (maybe) and Military / Police / Fire discounts are available. All of the events will be capped at a MAX of 300 racers. Those that have been waiting for a return to our glory days…  I’m back. Let’s get your ass kicking on like it’s 2006! Those new, come out to the March event and get a taste of what I’ve been doing for 10 years. Finally back at the starting point – looking to see some familiar faces this season, even if you’re crying like a little bitch when I see you.

Information on Frozen Watters will be out this weekend. The entire 2016 schedule will be announced by the end of next week. Follow me on twitter (twitter.com/jeffwattersxxx) or at http://www.jeffwatters.com for race updates and training programming

 

Leave a Reply

