What Are You Doing That’s Better (my ode to crossfit)

So, this isn’t for or against CrossFit. As many criticisms as I have, I probably have just as many things I can support, as is the case with most things. What this is about pertains to the massive backlash against the whole “cult fit” movement. What I find to be funny, and almost annoying, is that MANY of the people I see that are either posting these anti crossfit rants or commenting on one that someone else posted, are fat out of shape people who know nothing about how to challenge themselves in a physical manner. Jumping on the “trash crossfit” band wagon gives them an excuse to continue going to the gym, walking at 3.0 for 30 minutes on a treadmill and doing a couple of weight machines while talking to the person next to them. The one thing I’ll say about crossfit is that it takes people WAY out of their comfort zone and teaches them how to actually “train” rather than “work out”. There’s a big difference and most of you won’t ever know what it is, and those are the majority of the people commenting and posting on all these articles I’m referring to. If you’re an athlete or are educated to understand the difference, you’re obviously excluded from this. So don’t get your panties in a bundle. My point is, criticize all you want, question everything BUT, make sure that you’re doing something better and actually understand the basic philosophy of the arena in which you’re throwing your opinions into. I’m not gonna lie, I don’t care for it much as a whole. Just as most people could criticize my methodology, and do. But, most of them push it harder than you ever will, using safe methods or not. However you choose to get yourself into shape, you need to TRAIN, not workout. And if you don’t know the difference, shut the fuck up.

Leave a Reply

