What do you Do?

Today I recalled a conversation I once had while working with a new boxing coach for the first time. Believe it or not, I was sometimes considered to be un-coachable and managed to find myself in between different trainers because of it. During our conversation, strategizing for an upcoming fight, he asked me what my game plan was, how would the fight “play out” in my head? I said “win”, my game plan is to win. He shook his head and repeated his question, stating that he wasn’t asking about the end result but how I was going to get there. I didn’t care how I was going to get there because I was going to do whatever it took to win. I would hit him, hard and often. I would give him the choice to get hit more frequently and much harder than he had before, or pack it in and be a quitter. It’s amazing how often people choose to quit when given the easy way out. The point to my rambling is this… Big, extensive, overthought game plans are useless unless you’re able to employ one simple mindset and that’s that you’re only plan is to win. Win by doing whatever is necessary and win by simply knowing that your opponent, after having to admit that they’ve far underestimated you, will find the option of quitting more appealing than to keep going.

So, what’s my game plan? Win…

Leave a Reply

