11/2

Yeah – this is about ME and not YOU. Maybe a little self-serving but, so what. It’s my blog! In all seriousness, this is something I’m using to keep myself in check. Those who don’t know I have a pacemaker, now you do. Got it while training for my last fight contract (as in last hurrah of my career) that was solely meant as an opportunity to fight in front of my family for the first time. Being that it would have been my first fight in almost 6 years, it was a big deal in and of itself. Adding another two years out with the pacemaker and accompanying therapy, I want to attempt to do something even more stupid than before. I want to fight. This is all contingent on doing something else that’s not been done, get my heart strong enough to get the pacemaker and defibrillator removed. Since there’s not much of a chance to get medically cleared for contact with this thing in my chest, the whole idea itself is a long shot. But, so is everything else in life. The doubts make it even more worthwhile to do it. Since this process is looking out over the next year, I’m going to document my training during that time. Why? I’m totally ADD, I need this to keep myself in line. My goal is that, once this is removed from my body, I’ll already be in shape to fight. Getting a running start is the best way to go after anything. At least that’s what I think and, as you may know by now, that’s all I care about – what I think. I’ll be posting my training and heart updates daily. If you’re interested, check back. If not, don’t. I’ll let you know when I get a fight date in late 2012.

 

11/2 – 30 minute run (7 mph max speed, 8% max incline) – Double Unders, situps, pushups x 50, 40, 30, 20, 10. – 3 rounds of Mitt work (with coaches), 3 rounds of bag work at WPE

 

One thought on “11/2

Leave a Reply

